Ami Bios beep codes? What does all this beeping inside my computer box mean?


  • Laptop Screen Repair Experts | Seacoast NH ME
  • Laptop Screen Repair Experts from Hampton NH to Wells ME


Computer Repair, Laptop Repairs| LCD Laptop Screen Repair NH| Laptop power jack  connector repairs

BIOS BEEP CODES BYFOWLER COMPUTER

shane@fowlercomputer.com

Beep Code Descriptions
1 short DRAM refresh failure
2 short Parity circuit failure
3 short Base 64K RAM failure
4 short System timer failure
5 short Process failure
6 short Keyboard controller Gate A20 error
7 short Virtual mode exception error
8 short Display memory Read/Write test failure
9 short ROM BIOS checksum failure
10 short CMOS shutdown Read/Write error
11 short Cache Memory error
1 long, 3 short Conventional/Extended memory failure
1 long, 8 short Display/Retrace test failed

Fowler Computer Repair
East Rochester, NH 03868.
(603) 343-8331
shane@fowlercomputer.com

About Shane G. Fowler

Fowler Computer Repairs desktop and laptop computers in the Rochester NH, Wakefield NH area. We also offer Local Business Internet Marketing Services and Copywriting for SEO.
This entry was posted in Computer Help, Hardware, Memory, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ami Bios beep codes? What does all this beeping inside my computer box mean?

  1. Sue says:

    I have a gateway notebook and I use dial up connection when at home. why does my notebook shut down after a few beeps only when I’m online?

  2. HAZ says:

    Hi,

    I was messing in the BIOS one day, and I must have changed something that I should not have. I pressed F10 to save the changes that I had made. And when the computer restarted the screen went blank, and then there was this long continuous beep. I quicky restarted it, and again it made this long beep. on the third time it did nothing. so I did all sorts off things, removed the memory clean it. then used so differnt memory to see if it was the memory causing the problem. I allso removed the graphics card, to see if it would start up on the onboard graphics. And then removed the CMOS battery to try to wipe the stupid thing I did. The computer working fine now with anything back in place, I just want to know what went wrong with it so I can avoided doing this again.

    thanks

    p.s I ungraded my memory on the same day that happend, from 512 to 768mb if that helps.

  3. Lonnie says:

    k so i have a computer and when there is no disc drive it works fine, but when i plug it in it gives me a beep code that is unheard of, it is 2 long and 3 short and it doesnt make any sence

  4. Shane Fowler says:

    Lonnie, I believe your drive may be connected backwards.

  5. Shane Fowler says:

    Please note. If you get beep code errors after installing random access memory you are either using the wrong type, combination, or speed.

Leave a Reply

